In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solution?

Sports’ professional competitions are witnessing a spread of doping amongst players in order to enhance their performance. This could be attributed to the desire of gaining more muscles as well as to speed up an injury recovery; hence, such matter could be tackled by imposing strict laws against steroids and running awareness campaigns of their side effects. One reason behind the sprawling consumption of prohibited drugs is that athletes always yearn to build up bigger muscle mass, which helps them to enhance their odds of winning more titles. Testosterone, for instance, is one of the substances that athletes have been using widely aiming to achieve better results. Moreover, anabolic steroids have played a significant role in the resilience process; thus, competitors usually take after injuries or tough diseases to back on track rapidly. For example, Lance Armstrong, a former professional cyclist who doped to recover from cancer prior to Sydney Olympic Games. Consequently, Armstrong was stripped of the Olympic bronze medal he won as he failed his blood tests. To mitigate this issue, firstly, governments should collaborate with sports’ associations to formulate Some legislations and rules with excessive penalties on athletes that ingest drugs. In other words, if a player was tested positive, he would be banned from representing his national team for life. Secondly, every country would lunch an anti-doping campaign by the participation of sports’ role models. To illustrate, Egypt would do a partnership with Mohammed Salah to promote the serious repercussions of steroids. Accordingly, many sportspersons will positively respond to this alert and avoid any illegal substances intake. In conclusion, the aim of obtaining more trophies and recovering shorter periods are the main reason that sportspersons resort to taking prohibited medicines. However, this phenomenon can be controlled by having extreme penalties and launching anti-steroid campaigns.