Some people think that the government should increase tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to start eating healthy. Do you agree or disagree?

Fast foodstuff on the plates at every meal is not only a habit but also a status symbol nowadays. It has been argued that the government must raise tax on such kinds of cuisine items to galvanize the public to initiate eating fresh and healthy. I am totally agreed with the aforesaid notion because it would help individuals to get rid of obesity and related diseases, in addition to that, it could also enhance physical as well as mental fitness. This essay will dive into the detailed advantages of it in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, it has been proved that eating burgers, pizza is absolutely responsible for gaining obesity due to high calory contents in it. When people get erroneously habitual in eating such unhealthy food the cholesterol level in their blood rises resulting in raised blood pressure, heart disease and even heart attack. So, if the law would apply heavy tariffs on eating fast food, the crowd will definitely reduce eating them as they will be no longer pocket friendly. For instance, according to the survey conducted by WHO, in March 2020, revealed that the number of the population visiting fast- food restaurants in London suddenly came down to 40% when additional taxes were implemented. This elucidates the effectiveness of tax applications. In addition to that family eating an unhealthy snack is more lethargic, lazy and suffers from depression and anxiety due to lack of nutrients in their diet. The ministry's decision to apply taxation on unhealthy food would definitely promote people to eat fresh fruits and vegetables which are comparatively cheaper and readily available. For example, in my neighbourhood, both children of Mrs Patil were notorious and hesitated to eat home-cooked food. But when, their prices hiked and it became difficult for Mrs Patil to afford them, eventually everyone's plate started becoming full of home-cooked meals almost every single day and they even started enjoying the food. Thus it substantiates that applying duty on fast feed is a demand of the time today as it is going to benefit society at last. In conclusion, I believe that although there are various ways to cut down on eating unhealthy food, the most effective one is the implementation of fines on them. It would not only help the people but also raise the revenue of the authority that too for the great cause.