Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Renewable energy has been a hot topic nowadays. There is an increasing number of citizens who opt for solar energy in their daily usage. Solar energy has no pollution and has a long term energy source provision. However, it is costly in maintenance and solely limited to daytime. The explanations are as follows. One of the advantages is that people get used to solar energy is because of the high coverage of the sun in cities. Additionally, non-renewable energy gives out tons of toxic gas while solar energy releases zero pollutes. Thus, it causes no harm to the environment. The latter can be used safely in various aspects such as boiling water and using electronic devices. Another advantage is that the sun has a super long life that ensures a stable supply. People, therefore, have no worry about the stability of power. On the contrary, some may think that solar energy is limited when it is cloudy and raining. It is no doubt that solar energy depends on sunshine. As a result, it can only be generated on sunny days. The second disadvantage of solar energy is that the equipment for producing power is too expensive. For instance, people fall short of money in installing solar plates. Also, the maintenance fee is not cheap which gives rise to the hesitation of people in choosing solar energy as household usage. In conclusion, it is true that more and more families switch from traditional energy to solar energy which is environmentally friendly and reliable. But we should not forget its high cost and the charge of repairing. In my opinion, solar energy have more advantages than disadvantages