In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last century, technology has been revolutionizing transportation, bringing about more and more advancements to the industry. Futurists claim that "traditional vehicles" will inevitably be replaced by self-driving ones which will soon dominate the market. Although I am aware of the beneficial outcomes that such future technologies have to offer, I believe that the drawbacks far surpass these benefits. The following paragraphs will compare this forth-coming phenomenon's merits and demerits along with a further explanation of my perspective. To embark on, proponents say that if cars, trucks, and buses become automated, this will significantly reduce car accidents and will help mitigate the effects of air pollutants. In other words, robot drivers navigate their way according to a set of rules, as opposed to humans who sometimes drive recklessly causing many accidents that often lead to injuries or even deaths. For example, a study have found that an enormous number of road accidents that happen in the United States of America are due to human errors or illegal actions such as driving while drunk or drugged; therefore, that study suggests that having automated motors will immensely minimize such tragic incidents. Another reason is that driverless automobiles are more energy efficient as they emit less greenhouse gas; hence, they might help in slowing down environmental degradation. This shows that developing self-driving vehicles might positively impact travellers as well as the environment in the long run. On the contrary, I am convinced that self-driving motors will have far more detrimental effects with regards to the safety of the passengers and the employment rate. Minor glitches will certainly have far more severe consequences than any human error would cause. Furthermore, these systems can be prone to hacks which lead to varying results from violating privacy to taking advantage of the driver's aunonmity to launch terrorist attacks on civilians. Finally, taxi drivers or delivery workers who depend solely on driving as their main source of income will eventually become jobless. For instance, it's assumed that when huge corporations, namely Uber and Carriage turn to using these cutting-edge car designs to guarantee a better service for their clients, this will raise the unemployment rates globally. Therefore, human driven vehicles are the safest option for people right now. In conclusion, what can be said is that it is a matter of time before driverless automobiles invade the market, however, I believe their introduction should be wisely monitored to ensure the most benefits for people on the road.