Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In some countries around the globe, governments spend a huge amount of money on building railways instead of roads. I completely disagree with this statement and believe that these funds should be allocated on roads. Railway construction has got to be stopped for several reasons. Firstly, it is much more expensive than building roads and requires a huge budget, time and manpower in order the be ready to use by the public. Secondly, the equipment and facilities that are being used for creating one, have not changed since the time they were invented. Thus, they pollute the air and are a threat to the environment. Finally, constructing a railway could get extremely dangerous. Last year, while the workers were trying to dig the terrain for the underground railway, the upper-level ground collapsed and killed and injured a few dozen underpaid people for the governments’ “vanity fair”. In my view, this money should be spent on roads instead. Traffic is a major issue, especially in overpopulated cities such as Hong Kong or New York. With a decent and professional redesign, we could eighter repair or make better and well-placed roads to deal with traffic. Roads contain several ways of transportation. The point I am trying to make is, roads are being used by a vast variety of businesses and regular people; Truck drivers, “eco-friendly” bikers, Taxis and so on. In conclusion, Roads create jobs and are the central core of connection between people. I think, if the so-called “men in power” ever had the desire to make useful changes and upgrades to cities, they must concentrate on roads, not railways.