Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure acitivity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sports is believed to be an essential cog in fundamental and societal development. Whereas, few have labelled it as nothing but a free-time activity. Thus, this essay will discuss both views in detail and give my opinion. Firstly, physical activities such as; games, not only provide vital physical exercise in our somewhat docile lifestyle, it gives us an opportunity to mix with other people, which is immensely important for our mental wellbeing. Furthermore, sporting events often unite people from all castes, creeds and religions, for example, countries like India and Pakistan do not have the best diplomatic relationship but when they compete against each other, all the animosity is often put aside and all the supporters are seen enjoying the game together. Secondly, I do understand the values of people who are avid supporters of the thinking that it's nothing more than a leisure activity. Moreover, these are the people who probably were deprived of participating in any form of sports in their childhood. For instance, my father had a very tough upbringing, as a result, he never allowed us to play any games whatsoever and was adamant that the sports were only for the wealthy and since we were struggling financially, it was deemed futile. Similarly, the society itself where we grow, makes a huge difference, whether any significance is given to the sports or not. In the end, it is hardly a contentious notion that sports are imperative to the well-being of human beings and ultimately for the betterment of society, even though, there are few who believe that it's just time-pass and nothing else.