Some people think it is important to keep and maintain old buildings rather than replace them with modern building.

The question of replacing old buildings with new ones is highly topical nowadays. It is considered by great part of the society that everything should be renovated and refreshed including edifices. Their opponents claim that old constructions can possess crucial value for the culture, on the one hand, and are still occupied by people living in them. I prefer to agree with the latter point. It's not a secret that constructions tend to be crashed and dilapidated over time. They change their shape becoming unsuitable for living and that's the first reason why they should be replaced with time. For example, if the roof of the construction is erased because of enduring action of sun or moisture this building cannot be exploited with the purpose of living.The next reason is the aesthetician one. Some buildings can be so ugly and unattractive that they just cannot answer new demands and tastes. Examples of those are soviet standard panel or brick residential 5-floors constructions, that are called " khrushchevki ", which were built with thoughts of everything but aesthetic. However, not all the houses deserve reconstruction or demolition. Some of them might be either of cultural significance or of a historical one. As an example, we can take printing yard on Nikolskaya Street in Moscow. It's a building that was constructed in the 19th century and this fact can be noticed if we look at the backside of the construction. It looks extremely decrepit and rundown in the background but this dilapidation has its own charm and emphasize how ancient the building is. So, in my opinion, it should not be reconstructed or even restored. Furthermore, there might be not only historical or cultural reasons but humanistic ones. For instance, the building can be inhabited by families living there for years and refusing to leave their places of living. Of course, their desires should be taken into account as well. In many cases it seems more rational to allow these people to stay in old buildings rather than organize their resettlement for financial reasons or for others. To conclude, the answer to the question about managing the destinies of old constructions cannot be concrete and explicit. The decision to maintain old houses or to replace them with new ones should be based on common sense. However, I strongly believe that if there is any opportunity to preserve ancient constructions it should be done to save cultural heritage.