Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Travelling abroad not only inspires curiosity but also offers individuals opportunity to interact with more people and promote cultural. Some people think that travelling has disadvantages on the country. However, in my opinion, negative impacts exist, but travelling does have a lot of advantages and the negative impacts are mitigable. There are several positive effects of travelling abroad. First of all, the main advantage of travelling is boosting the economic growth of the country. Tourists spend money on a wide range of services including accommodation, transportation, food and medical services. This way, travelling helps yields an additional income, greatly support the country’s economy. Secondly, travelling increases the level of employment as it creates a variety of new jobs. For instance, the increasing number of tourists results in a larger demand in restaurant workers, employees of retail services, tour guides, etc. Last but not least, it promotes international connections which can bring more business and cultural collaborations in the long term. It also promotes cross-cultural awareness for both locals and tourists and builds bridges of understanding between cultures. Admittedly, travelling have some negatives impacts, but those disadvantages are manageable. The primary undesirable effects due to international travel are generally claimed to be various types of pollution. However, data clearly indicates that the vast majority of pollution is perpetrated by locals. Another downside of international travel often postulated is hegemonic marginalization. Residual hegemony exists but is incongruent with the positives of modern globalization and should not be used to invalidate the innumerable benefits of tourism. In conclusion, while I agree that travelling has some drawbacks, I believe that tourism also benefits the country and any negative effects can be mitigated.