An increasing number of people now are using the internet to meet others and socialise. Some think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The current trend has seen individuals using internet connectivity influence on each other within the society.Whereas some people believe that it has encouraged cohesion in the society; Others however,has seen it has a separating factor.I incline to the fact that online communications has allowed great number of individuals to come closer and socialize with no efforts. First and foremost, improved network coverage has increased communications between individuals meaning it provides a platform for quick way of receiving and sending back information thus making communication process complete. In addition, social platforms has encouraged individuals to express their feelings thus promoting the freedom of speech for every Tom,Dick and Harry. Moreover,elected leaders has used the same platform to reach out magnitude of masses enabling them to sale off their ideas to the society, as a result the communities are able to identify themselves with their leaders. Furthermore, internet coverage has encouraged continuity of friendship meaning ancient childhood friends can meet and continue chatting like in the case of facebook friends. For instance,a recent study has shown that 89% of social platforms users have a vast number of friends compared to the number of friends that can meet physically. Therefore, internet coverage and social media platforms has increased the level of interaction of individuals within community setup. On the contrary, online communications has watered down the kind of friendships that exited during colonial error. Firstly, it has made individuals to become indolent to holding physical meeting instead prefer having virtual meetings. In addition to that, availability of smartphones and complicated gadgets have added salt to the injury by increasing the level of conviniace. For example, the rise of different groups on social media which gives a person opportunity to identify with what they like depending on their preference. Thus, the old fashion way of people having fun together is reduced. To conclude, advance in technology and increased levels of internet connectivity has enabled individuals to continue keeping friends globally, therefore, promoting cohesion within the societies.