In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is becoming increasingly common for companies to place focus on the novelty of their products. In my opinion, this has its basis in the psychology of consumer behaviour and is generally a negative development. The reason many marketing departments present their products as new is that they are hoping to incentivise increased consumer demand. One of the chief principles of business is that products must meet a real customer need, and ideally, be unique in some way. As an illustration, the marketing of electronic automobiles made by Tesla highlights that they are different from any traditional cars and this offers novel benefits for the environment and the individual motorist. This strategy created a niche in the automobile industry that they eventually expanded to become one of the largest corporations in the world. It follows that every business attempts to present their products as new to inspire interest and compel demand. There are exceptions, as in the case of Tesla mentioned above, however, this trend generally leads to disingenuous ads and consumer fatigue. Most companies framing their products as new in some aspect are actually attempting to mislead the citizenry. This is often the case with soft drink companies like Coca Cola and Pepsi that regularly rebrand their bottles and cans to give the appearance of novelty. These tactics are recognisably dishonest and audiences are rarely convinced. The net effect is that customers become tired of watching ads for familiar products pretending to be innovative. For many customers, this often provokes a growing feeling of apathy and disinterest towards the exploitive methods of advertisers. To conclude, the reason many marketing agencies position their products as new lies in the importance of consumer psychology and the cynical impact this has in the aggregate is negative. More savvy companies often eschew this trend to produce honest advertisements.