In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In this fast-paced world, mankind is trying to work harder than ever to achieve more and due to this some people oftenly tell children that they can succeed in anything if they try harder. This message has its own merits and demerits and I will discuss both in this essay with specific reasons. Trying hard has become a new trend in recent times but sometimes people tend to forget that there are some disadvantages attached to this message of working harder to achieve greater heights if this advice is given to children. Firstly, skill set of every human differs from others and we are all unique and giving this message to children will only push them to try harder in a domain which is not meant for them. Moreover, they can climb the success ladder by honing the skills which they can perform better than others rather than pushing for something which is not their cup of tea. To cite an example, my neighbour pushed his son to opt for science as his career and he gave him the same message but the pupil was really good with business studies and as a result he failed miserably in his 11th grade even after working harder than most of the students and eventually he chose to study commerce and he achieved great success. Additionally, the message of working hard in order to do better adds on to the psychiatric stress on children as they push too hard to achieve more rather than focussing on the innate talent. For instance, I was always good with acting and used to perform plays in my childhood but I was asked to work harder on mathematics and it added extra stress and I could not cope up with it and as a result I was mentally stressed and I had to take help from a psychiatrist. These are the demerits of giving this message to children as it just adds more pressure but there is a bright side to it and we will now discuss the same. Furthermore, there are some pupils who posess the skills of studying and working harder to achieve great heights and some people give them this message to give them an extra push to work towards their goals. Motivation is the biggest advantage that can be drawn out of this message as all it takes is a little more effort to achieve something big. For instance, one of my friends was great at studying but was never willing to work hard and after his mother gave her this message and showed him a motivational video related to it, he was able to put the force into the right direction and worked harder to reach greater heights and is a successfull lecturar in a top university in New Delhi. In conclusion, there are many pros and cons attached to the message of working harder to achieve anything which we discussed above. Working hard in the right direction will always be advantageous for children and with a little push they can achieve anything.