Some people think the government should establish free libraries in each town. Others believe that it is a waste of money since people can access the Internet to obtain information. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One part of society claim the government should construct libraries which can be used without payment while the other party disagrees with that idea because the Internet is the cheapest source of knowledge. I am of the opinion that libraries should be established because they can be more beneficial in numerous ways. On the one hand, people argue that free libraries should be proliferated across the country by the authorities. Libraries can serve society in numerous ways. For example, they can attract the younger generations and help them in their education. Furthermore, libraries have quiet and serious environment which is crucial for an effective learning process. To give an example from personal experience, I subscribed to a library in my hometown and it changed my study routine drastically and my exam results have improved since then. On the other hand, some advocate the idea that online resources are cheaper and more efficient therefore trying the build public libraries is to squander the government’s funds. The internet is easy to reach and it has almost illimitable sources of knowledge. Having said that, we must take into account that the Internet can easily turn into a source of distraction. For example, a recent study has incontrovertibly shown that children who study for their lessons with a computer become more easily distractible than their peers. I think, although the Internet requires less money it can not be more efficient than libraries. In conclusion, some say free libraries are necessary and should be funded by the governments, the others take the opposite stance and defend the concept of not pouring the government’s money down the drain and using the internet instead. In my opinion, free libraries should be established because they are more efficient and can not be replaced by the Internet.