Zoos are sometimes seen as necessary but not poor alternatives to a natural environment. Discuss some of the arguments for and/or against keeping animals in zoos.

Some people believe that zoos are necessary, arguing that zoos play not only an educational role in the society, but also provide a safe environment for animals that are in danger. At the same time, others are against keeping animals in zoos, claiming that it is crucial captivate animals apart from their natural habitat and humanity should not interfere animal’s circle of life. On the one hand, it might be said that zoos have educational value, every visitor is able not only lively observe the animal but also to know about it through the description. Moreover, in interactive zoos children and adults are allowed to touch and feed animals, which brings people closer to nature. Another benefit of zoos is that it provides safe refuge for endangered species and injured animals. On the other hand, zoos cannot fully serve the needs of all animals. It is almost impossible to duplicate the natural habitat of animals, especially for large species, such as the elephant, bears, hippos, rhinos, and others. In addition, maintenance of zoo can be expensive and not always profitable, and due to lack of funds, animals often suffer from poor service and nutrition. Moreover, it is not uncommon in zoos, visitors feed animals with inappropriate food, thereby causing harm to animals. Overall, it appears that, although maintaining zoos is difficult, it might be beneficial for both human and animal worlds, having educational and protective roles, and if managed properly, it can be perfectly viable alternative to a natural environment.