International tourism has become a huge industry in the world. Do the problems of international travel outweigh its advantages?

It is irrefutable that global tourism has gained increasing popularity in the recent years which can be mainly attributed to the curious nature of the human being. It is believed by some that this is beneficial, while others tend to disagree. In my opinion, the positives of the tourism industry far outweigh the negatives. The main pitfall of the tourism industry is the pollution with the surge in proportion of tourists. With the growing number of people, there would be escalation in littering. Furthermore, this growth would make it challenging for the local authorities to maintain the cleanliness of the area. Also, since most people utilize flights to get to their final destinations, the percentage of air pollution is worsening. On the contrary, there are several advantages of globe-trotting. Firstly, with the growing number of tourists visiting, the local population in the area benefits. For instance, this provides them with better employment opportunities for the indigenous population. Secondly, there is a steady increase in the income of the locals making their lives easier. To illustrate, the need for restaurants, accommodation and transportation increases bettering the infrastructure of the locality. Lastly, visiting new places always provide opportunities to learn and understand different cultures from all over the world. This would open them upto newer ways of life and make them more worldly. To conclude, travelling to new and exotic places has mostly a positive impact on the society, provided sufficient care is taken to keep the pollution rates at a minimum.