The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology which can prevent and solve crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancements in science and technology, the overall crime rate has been stagnant over the years. However, I somewhat disagree with this notion as with the evolution of better technology, criminals have been adapting quite well and crimes have become more sophisticated. Firstly, there is enough evidence to suggest that with improved technology, authorities have been doing a far better job of solving crimes and even at times, the technology has been proven to be the definitive deterrent for criminals against the crimes. For example, CCTV cameras have been a successful derivative of the modern era that have prevented many crimes from happening and the footage from these are often used to solve crimes. Similarly, technologies such as; social media and streaming services have aided authorities in identifying and apprehending criminals on many occasions. On the other hand, as technology has advanced, so have the criminals and the means of equipment they use for the execution. Moreover, the nature of the crime itself has evolved. For instance, incidents like cyber attacks, online hacking and identity theft have all been increasing and will continue to grow as our technologies grow. Furthermore, the developments have made catching up with criminals so difficult, in some cases, they just disappear without any trace. For example, cryptocurrencies have made controlling crimes like money laundering so hard even with the presence of advanced technology. In conclusion, I have no doubt that technology has helped us with solving and preventing crimes from taking place but it has to remain in the right hands as the ubiquitous dangers of modern technologies falling in the hands of criminals, can not be overlooked. Hence, I believe the advancements have given birth to a new era of crimes.