In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The way we work has changed over the past decades. In comparison to the past, nowadays most people, due to prominence of electronic devices and the Internet, prefer working from home instead of making a journey to their workplace each day. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of this statement.   The greatest advantage of working from home is that it saves time. Travel to work every day, especially in big and populated cities is one of the main problems for employees. Even in some cities, such as Tokyo, it has been reported that a large number of employees have to spend about 6 hours on a round trip. In addition, in some cases, employees cannot adapt themselves to working conditions, whereas they can easily provide more convenience than the office, in their homes and this will boost their productivity. On the other hand, working from home can also have disadvantages. Based on latest research, the optimum condition for maximum efficiency occurs for remote workers when the workplace is separated from the sleeping area, while most freelancers and tele-workers don't have enough space to allocate a specific space to the work environment, which can negatively affect their productivity. Furthermore, from an adult who is staying at home expected to solve problems at home, that leads to multitasking, that is one of the predominant acts that deteriorates progress.   In conclusion, with the development of communication equipment and innovative technologies such as computers and smartphones the norm of the workplace has been changed. Working remotely has many benefits, such as time reduction and increased productivity, in contrast it may cause distraction.