Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people are more settled with status quo while others believe that change is inevitable. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument followed by my own opinion. Firstly, performing a task over and over again, aids in building proficiency through development and mastery of a skill. To illustrate this, some recent stories in the media highlighted that factory workers who perform same task day in day out were more productive compared to their counterparts on rotation basis. In addition, the rate of errors committed during performance of related tasks daily, was significantly reduced. Therefore, remaining at status quo does not only build mastery but also cuts down the mistakes in the tasks execution. On the other hand, there are advantages associated with changing the norm and doing things differently. A shift in routine enhances innovation by allowing individuals to think outside the box. Clearly, this is essential in maximizing the potential of different personalities. Besides this, stretching beyond the status quo encourages critical and creative thinking which eventually leads to the process improvement. A good example is when a dictatorial leader embraces democracy by allowing alternative opinions from other leaders. Precisely, a shift from routine triggers creativity and at the same time helps in generation of more innovative ideas. In conclusion,I believe that both sides of the argument have merits. Development of proficiency and reduction in error stands in favour for status quo whereas innovation, critical and creative thinking is enhanced when change is embraced. In my opinion however, it seems that doing things differently is inevitable especially for the purpose of improvement.