Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

In today’s modern society we observe that many people are competing with each other for money and power. As a reason people tend to forget to do things that they want and which make them happier such as hobbies. We only see that a few people actually have time to invest in hobbies such as gardening, reading books, collecting stamps, etc. I agree with this statement since I myself don’t find enough time to do things that make me happy. The essay formulated below will take you through as to why this is being observed currently in most individuals and the effect that has on each person and the society as a whole. We see that only very few are able to dedicate their time to engage in hobbies. A reason for this can be due to the workload and pressure that many get from their workplaces. This makes people focus on their work more which is important so that they can grow in their respective career paths. So there is no time for them to devote to a hobby / hobbies they love. Another reason can be due to the advancements in modern technology. With this, even if a person gets free time, he / she passes time by either using social media such as Facebook, Twitter, etc, watching televisions, etc. This is mostly seen in millennials. Not engaging in hobbies that make an individual feel relaxed but only focusing on work can lead to issues within the families due to lack of attention to the spouse / children / parents or it can lead you to sickness, worst case depression. So it’ll have a negative impact on both your health and family life. Engaging in social media or television for longer periods of time will again cause both mental and psychological health issues. In conclusion, engaging in hobbies that pleases you is also equally important amidst the busy schedule people might have. If persons can at least spend an hour or two per week doing something that they like such as planting trees, listening to music, reading books, etc. would definitely allow them to let go of the stress and tension they might have from the workplaces. This will also increase the efficiency and the effectiveness of these individuals as they go back to work with a peaceful and relaxed mind. If the majority of the society is able to dedicate at least one eighth of their time per week to engage in a hobby they like, this will undoubtedly make the society more beautiful.