Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In this day and age, the continuous daily activities of humans have led to an excessive amount of garbage that has not been recycled properly. Numerous people claim that central officials are in charge of making recycling laws in order to tackle this issue. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement and believe that there are other rational measures. On the one hand, it is true that new legislation is essential for people to obey the process of classifying waste. As it is a requirement from the government, citizens will pay more attention to the issue and take it more seriously as they know they will be fined if they break the rule. For example, the police have the right to charge people who throw rubbish that is not processed away economically as it has been written in the official law. As a result, communal awareness about recycling will be raised, which contributes to the improvement of the environment. On the other hand, I am convinced that there are several other methods to deal with this concern. A good idea is for authorities to increase the number of environmental campaigns in neighbourhoods and residential areas. Not only does this provide an opportunity for dwellers to gain further insights into the issue and its adverse consequences, but it also directly encourages citizens to take action to address the situation. Another measure is including environment-related lessons in the education system. By doing this, youngsters can acquire knowledge about how to protect our planet and recycle waste from a very young age, which enables them to do so in their daily lives, such as classifying garbage accurately or making use of composable rubbish. In conclusion, it is undeniable that we need the government to establish laws for tackling unrecycled waste. Nonetheless, I advocate that there are various efficient solutions, namely investing in education and campaigns, that should be taken into consideration.