Some people think that individuals today are more dependent on each other. Others believe people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many are of the opinion that people today are less self-reliant than at any point in the past. In my opinion, there exists the possibility to be completely independent but most are justifiably more reliant on each other now. Those who believe people today are more independent argue technology is liberating. In the past, a person who wanted to do research or enjoy a movie would have to leave their home, interact with others, and engage more with the community at large. However, it is now possible to live a largely insular lifestyle. Users can sign up for educational courses online, order food by delivery, and access mass amounts of information freely. Those who take advantage of these modern conveniences can theoretically become more independent and self-reliant. The question of whether this ideal is often achieved is still a matter of debate. The main reason people are less independent today is this quality is no longer consider unequivocally positive. The traditional importance placed on keeping one’s composure, enduring difficult situations, and not requiring the help of others has been replaced in recent decades with a more progressive outlook that elevates vulnerability and dependence on others. It is now more common, for men especially, to be open to revealing their own weaknesses and asking for help. This social shift in turn has led to an increased reliance on the community, both online and in-person, as well as a modern acceptance of wellness, therapy, and the importance of a compassionate support network for long-term mental health. In conclusion, though many people have the potential to lead a more independent lifestyle thanks to advances in internet technology, most are now more dependent than ever before because of seismic shifts in society. This change has its positives and negatives but its reality is undeniable.