Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

The importance of schooling is undeniable. It decides what kinds of people we would be, what kind of job we will do and what kind of life we will lead. Therefore, what should or should not be taught at school is a heated topic. Some people believe that subjects like music, art and drama should be included in the education curriculum since they are the same essential as academic subjects, especially in primary school. In my opinion, I agree with this statement and my reason is below. The first advantage of music, art and drama class is that many young artistic talents can discover. When students join the music and art class in elementary school, they can learn about their potential and parents can have a plan to develop a future career for their children. Without participating in these activities, some artistic individuals might be denied the chance to achieve their full potential. In Vietnam, for example, the primary school must have art and music class. Every year, through artistic and music competitions at school, there is more than 50 young talent discovered and they are offered the opportunity to transfer to specialized music or art schools. Another compelling reason why non-academic subjects are as crucial as academic subjects is that non-academic subjects develop essential attributes, which help students are more employable in the future. It could be said that the main objective of people who attend school is to get well-paid jobs after they finish. Thus, at the lowest level of education, many students are taught that they should focus on academic subjects that can be related to their careers. However, employers nowadays are more concerned about attributes like adaptability, creativity and soft skills. These qualities are developed by playing music, participating in team sports more than joining in academic lessons. As a result, these subjects play the important role in the student’s aim. For instance, according to the Vietnamese Social Journal, 60% of large corporations in Vietnam ask a high level of adaptability from their candidates as employees are required to travel and work at many different workplaces. In conclusion, non-academic subjects should be as vital as academic subjects at the elementary level because they allow to discover young talents and build attributes that are necessary for a future career.