People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

It has been a norm that today’s people deprive themselves of sleep more than they did a few decades ago. The fast-paced development of modern technology is believed to shoulder much of the blame and as a result, a growing number of people are now diagnosed with serious mental changes. There are several factors that make the time people spend sleeping reduce substantially. First and foremost, they are willing to sacrifice their priceless time which should be used for sleeping just to finish reading the new updates on their social media or watching the latest episode on Netflix. In doing so, the blue light released from the laptop or phone’s screen accidentally stimulates a part of the brain that makes them feel alert instead of drowsy or sleepy. As a result, a standard 8 hours which is vital for their body to take a rest and function properly is decreased to only 4 or 5 hours. Another rationale behind the dearth of sleep in today’s society is a great deal of pressure that both children and adults have to tolerate from schools or the workplace. When it comes to an important exam, students have no choice but to pull an all-nighter to cram up all the necessary knowledge. The same happens with adults who are frequently snowed under with deadlines and tons of heavy workload. It is blindingly obvious that if individuals do not have adequate sleep, the repercussions will be more problematic than expected. As the first reason being mentioned before, people who constantly expose themselves to the blue light emitted from the screen of the modern device are prone to depression, as well as diabetes and cardiovascular problems. Furthermore, insufficient sleep has a direct impact on the brain, thus making it harder to form new memories and consolidate the knowledge that people have learnt in a day. This explains why students who have spent all the night studying for an exam are likely to give poorer performance compared with those who hit the sack early. What is more,individuals who don’t sleep enough will often be more aggressive and pessimistic than ones who enjoy a full and healthy sleep. Hence, their relationship with the others is likely to suffer since they are usually in a bad mood or become more squeamish than ever that they are ready to get into a conflict. In conclusion, modern devices are mainly to blame for sleep deprivation and correspondingly, it entails a host of problems relating to people ’s mental health and their social circle. Votes