Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Protecting water sources is a precondition for long-term environmental protection. The industrial activities of continuously exploiting water from different sources such as rivers and seas are the main culprit behind serious water pollution, hence a deterioration in both people and animal ‘s daily life and health. The primary reason for this alarming pollution is the high volume of regular water exploitation. these days, a growing number of factories take a huge amount of freshwater water from the environment but return with dirty by-products replete with billions of bacteria and microorganisms. In addition, the frequency of oil leaks and spills is also attributable to water contamination. Ships and boats whose mission are transporting this material to the factories accidentally spoil the sea with thousands of oil litres every day, hence exacerbating the current problem. Consequently, water pollution takes a heavy toll on the whole ecosystem, including humans and animals living in it. In particular, polluted water from lakes can flow into the underground soil of nearby fields or farms, thus causing a ripple effect for both industrial and agricultural activities. Water pollution from toxic substances can additionally disrupt the process of photosynthesis, therefore posing a great threat to the survival of nearby trees and animals. To cite an example, the 2016 Vietnam marine life disaster caused by a company named Formosa was the reason behind the millions of fish deaths in a wide range of beaches in Thanh Hoa. Furthermore, when this company released water waster into the seas, people living nearby were diagnosed with serious diseases when they used this source, some of them had to stay in hospitals for a long time. What is more, the effects of water pollution are insidious to humans because only far later can they notice the deterioration in their health. To conclude, industrial involvement is mainly to blame for this kind of pollution and so far a colossal loss of animal’s lives and the decline in people ‘s health care at the expense of its repercussions.