Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, the trend of “becoming your own boss” has witnessed some upward changes in our midst, especially young adults who dream of owning a big business and earn a fortune. Independence and financial autonomy is mainly the driving force behind this phenomenon. However, there are some major downsides which should be contemplated before choosing self-employment. Unlike another career, self-employment offers people more control and flexibility in working hours. People no longer have to endure pressure from bosses as well as colleagues when they work on their own, meaning that the working hours will depend on their choice and above all, no more bearing in a crowd on the way to a workplace. Instead, they can comfortably enjoy a cup of coffee while checking their email or planning a to-do list for a day. Moreover, self-employed people are also experiencing higher job satisfaction compared to those who work in a company. Working on your own as an ideal option notwithstanding, there are some considerable drawbacks to being your own boss. Firstly, income insecurity is the key factor that most people find challenging to cope with. As opposed to normal working conditions where people are guaranteed a stable salary each month, self-employed business depends on their ability to run the company smoothly and, also ensure that there is enough capital investments to maintain in a harsh market. Besides, additional obstacles such as increased responsibility and pressure and potentially long working hours are inevitable. To conclude, self-employment seems like a perfect option for some people, not everyone. Therefore, thorough consideration must be given before one opts for this attractive but risky career.