Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

Downloading verified music and books from the internet has long been free and available for every Internet user. However, I don’t think this is a positive development as while it gives us the chance to enjoy reading and listening entertainingly without paying, we are abusing the authors and the composers’ intellectual property. On the one side, access to boatloads of music and books opens the door for a whole new world of knowledge and masterpieces. With just an amount of money paid for the WIFI network every month, people can enjoy listening to music from a wide range of websites with high-quality audio of up to 320kbps or read different updated books whenever they want. This brings beneficial advantages for people who can’t afford to pay a large amount of money to buy books, especially the foreign ones whose tax is doubled when it comes to buying the original version. Having offline music enables people to entertain themselves when they are on the train, in their workplace or where there is no presence of the WIFI. For instance, I usually open the offline playlist of jazz music to help me concentrate on studying when I am in a library or even at home when I don’t want to be disturbed by the social media ‘s notifications. On the other side, it would be extremely unfair for the creators who have spent ages publishing their brainchild. Whereas people take only 3 minutes or 3 days to listen to a song or accomplishing reading a book, the authors are paid for a certain amount of money and then watch their products being spread all over the Internet without proper sources. Even though it is not considered to be illegal, suppose we are in their position, it would be a feeling of bitterness and disconsolateness that their time and efforts deserve more than that. A lot of singers, composers and authors are fighting every day to gain justice for their brainchild by removing their creations from websites that illegally steal the music or books without permission. Furthermore, the service of providing these free entertainments are gradually disappearing and instead, they offer a small charge for every song or book people want to download. Though it is inconvenient at first, let’s look from a different perspective, it’s a way to show respect and create motivations for the authors as well as the composers to tocontinue publish newly attractive products for us to enjoy. To conclude, it’s generally a negative development that if we continue to use the other’s intellectual properties without paying, it is just a matter of time until we have nothing to entertain.