A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, there is a tendency in society to prefer evaluating a person by property or stature rather than by personality. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this trend before giving rationales as to why I lean toward the view emphasising personal values. To begin with, some compelling reasons are given to analyse the money or social prominence priority. First of all, it is acknowledged that the more income the public achieve, the more authority they have in society. When people have more influence on social media or have a plethora of material possessions in growth, they will obviously have chances to widen their relationships and opportunities, helping them to have a certain place or voice up their opinions in the community. For example, Miss Universe of Viet Nam, Khanh Vy, gained more followers on Instagram after becoming famous and had a chance to open an organization about feminism, supporting numerous girls in the country. Moreover, education is blamed to be the further reason for nowadays judgements. Granted, schools in the majority of countries have a proclivity to emphasise teaching certain specialized subjects as mathematics, science instead of personal morality. Thus, kids will focus on academic knowledge instead of improvements in temperament leading to a problem that hidden worths will be overshadowed. On the other hand, I still strongly advocate the point that personal values as kindness or trust are the key factors for a person’s worth. The first reason supporting this view is that attitude can be much more beneficial and useful in life than fame or money. Granted, good treatments or the ways public act kindly show all the true and hidden personalities of them as honour or kindness, leading to appreciation or respect they gain from others. By having more faith, they can have much more opportunities and achievements, not only in their career future but also in daily activity. For example, a driver in Ha Noi had a chance to gain various donations and help after gaining the trust of citizens by saving a one-year-old kid from an accident. Secondly, one more rationale for this support is that worths stay stable and are hard to change. While material possessions or fame are quite contemporary and may not last forever, personalities remain permanently so they will have long-lasting benefits or impacts. For instance, bankruptcy or an accident can make social prestige quickly disappear while faith and kindness help society to always be respected in their life. Thus improving values and becoming a better version of themself is much more vital and practical than just focusing on income and fame. In conclusion, social condition plays an essential role in a human's growth but characteristics always need to be much more prioritized. Therefore, people can then not only be a better version but also get more opportunities and promotions.