Some people believe that success means earning a lot of money. Others believe that success is defined by personal happiness. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Money has become the definitive form of measurement of success. Similarly, the amount of wealth defines the level of success in modern society. However, there are other people who believe that self-contentment is the true definition of success. Even though it is a completely objective matter, I believe both values need to be incorporated in one's life to be able to proclaim that they are successful. Firstly, modern-day society is the personification of wealth. For example, the size of the house and the brand of the car determines how well a person is going to be perceived in society. Moreover, the perception of success is based on the tangible assets that the person holds. For instance, people like Jeff Bezos and Elon Musk who are one of the wealthiest human beings ever lived, to be the most successful residents of planet Earth. Whereas, my parents whom I see as the happiest couple, nobody considers them even remotely successful. Secondly, personal happiness is a very contentious topic as it can't be determined exactly what it is. To elaborate, self-happiness often varies between gender, age, income level and even on the size of the family. And then the question comes of how happy we are, for which the reply mostly is- fairly happy. But no one knows the extent of happiness as one can still be happy despite being under thousands worth of debt while others may not be as cheerful even after having a million dollars in the bank account. For example, I can say I'm happy even though I have a relatively small family and a small rented house, in contrast, my ex-workmate, who owns a big house and has a large enough family with a big enough income, but I still hear him whinging all the time. In conclusion, there is definitely not one size fits all answer to this question, having said that, we do need money as there are things which we can not go without. On the other hand, self-satisfaction is an essential aspect of life that can not be overlooked. Hence, both tangible and intangible assets are imperative for anyone to be successful.