With the rise of E-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

For ages, reading books are the most popular way of gaining knowledge. In recent times, with the rise of computers and various other gadgets, E- books have replaced paper binding ones. Some are in favour of such a change, although others defer. In this essay, I will discuss some advantages and drawbacks of the rise of E- books and explain why I feel advantages supersede. Some bookworms still prefer reading paper books. According to them, with the increased popularity of E- books, paper books are getting demolished. They strongly feel that the happiness and nostalgia of buying a new paper book can never be achieved through E- books. A survey conducted by McGill University, for instance, has stated as a reason for the same that book lovers especially feel for the smell of a newly bought book, which is missing in E- books. Apart from this, a number of heritage libraries in many cities are getting shut down due to people’s lost interest in reading a physical copy of books. An article published in The Hindu, for example, posits that many libraries in Kolkata have been closed due to a lack of funds for maintenance as the number of readers has dropped. Despite the negative approach of the aforementioned group, many readers, including me, have shifted their interest to E- books for mainly two factors. First of all, E- books are nature friendly. As E- books require no paper, they save a huge number of trees, which is definitely beneficial for nature in such a crucial time of global warming. Adding to this, these types of books are also space-saving. Thousands of E- books can be stored in one device like a computer or a mobile phone, which not only saves the space of a bookshelf, but also makes one’s entire collection very handy and accessible from anywhere. These certainly have made E- books quite popular among readers. In conclusion, there will always be people who will prefer reading a physical copy of books over the Electronic copy of the same. In my opinion, however, the latter provides a number of advantages, which has pulled the majority of the bookworms towards opting for E- books.