Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think that its essential to learn. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Researching and studying history can be wasteful but it can also help us understand and improve our culture and therefore our civilisation. In this essay, we are going to discuss both advantages and disadvantages of learning history. Archaeological research requires a huge amount of time, workforce and resources. These resources can be better used in other places like Environmental or Climate research which is the actual need of an hour. Students in school or colleges, instead of learning history, can focus on subjects that are more useful for them like science and environment studies. On the other hand, by learning our past we can analyze real-life scenarios better and make better decisions and not make mistakes our ancestors had already made. For example, we can learn about World Wars and how they were one of the worst man-made disasters and avoid situations that can re-trigger similar wars. Furthermore, we can make use of findings and research done in the past and continue improving from there for future generations. For example, studies done by previous astronomers can help us unlock the mysteries of the universe and help us in getting insight into our origins. Not only history enriches our culture but by knowing it we become proud of our previous achievements. Moreover, it inspires us to make better things that can withstand the trial of time like our ancestors made. In the end, I would like to say that reading history might be time-consuming but the advantages we get by doing it easily outweigh the disadvantages.