There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment.What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as form of assessment?

The situation currently has experienced the rise in the number of students having final test as opposed to frequent assessments. This essay will elaborate on the pros and cons of having examination. To begin with,final exams have an added advantage because they are given at the end of a training in order to assess the level of understanding among the students following the given subject.To illustrate this, learners are able to put down to paper the knowledge and skills they have acquired through the given period of time.Another benefit, is that exams saves on the time since they will be done once and for all meaning no need of back and forth of students creating time to be with the examiners during the assessment; In addition to that, exams are done upon the completion of units therefore students have the benefit of covering a wide range of topics thus increasing on the level of skills and experience.For intances instances, a recent study by the Kenyatta University students indicated the 82% of students delivered exemplary performance on exams compared to the frequent tests. Thus, exams provide a good avenue for testing learners knowledge and skills. On the other hand, exams does not provide room for students to meet frequently with their teachers this is because examination are given at the end of the course rather than frequently. Moreover, students tend to forget easily given that they are not remainded remained as often like in the case of continuos assessment test thus chances of failing in examination is high. Furthermore, exams does not give learners time to put into practice whatever they have learnt as practice makes perfect.As result the learners come out half baked meaning they are not trained properly. For example,studies indicates that greater percentage of learner give examplary performance if they are tasked to continuos assessments. Therefore, good performance students depends on the level examinations they are subjected to. To conclude,examinations have the benefit of reducing the amount of time spent in learning thus giving opportunity for students to do a lot on their own.Whereas,on the flip side it denays the students the opportunity of interacting frequently.