Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the ubiquity of social media and technology devices nowadays, some people are more likely to spend their time working or studying than doing recreational activities. This may have some negative effects on both the individual and society. The primary cause of this drastic reduction is the uncontrollable growth of social media and cyberspace. An update of a new version of a particular app tempts people into embedding their eyes to the screen and some even become heavily addicted to those tempting platforms. Although people are keen on their hobbies and willing to spend hours enjoying them, social media has completely dissuaded them from their favourite activities and instead, it takes hours before they can finally put the phone down. In other cases, people nowadays are prone to becoming a workaholic who works around the clock just to satisfy their working desire or meet the needs of essentials for the families. For instance, my dad used to share the housework with my mom but since he had to work under higher pressure, he has rarely given her a hand in any chores in the house. Consequently, its negative effect on society is intense, let alone on the individual. When people spend less time for themselves, the national happiness’s rate decreases and so does the productivity at the workplace. According to a report I’ve read online, these people said they felt that they were working aimlessly without any enthusiasm and they were disoriented by the unrealistic on the internet. Moreover, as a result of sitting and staring at the screen or lack of physical activities, they accidentally pose a threat to their own health by increasing the chances of shortsightedness, melancholy or a reduction of brain function. To conclude, people should give their health and advantages priority over the attractive addiction by carefully considering what is better for them.