Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about that universities should accept same numbers of male and female students in every major. Personally, I completely disagree with this view. In my opinion, it would be wrong to offer same numbers of placements for both male and female students. Universities might find that it would not be practical to enrol same numbers of male and female young people in various majors. For example, way more girls tend to choose to receive higher education in the fields of linguistism linguistics or arts than boys. At the same time, boys are more likely to study majors related to engineering or science. Genders should not be a barrier for students who would pursue higher education. When higher education institutes evaluate potential candidates, it should be depending on their qualifications or skills instead of genders. For example, both male and female candidates compete for an available placement in a subject. If there is no more available placement for female candidates, it would not be equal to admit less competitive male candidates. This would result in a situation that well-qualified and well-educated students might not be able to further their education. It would have detrimental impact on our nation in future. In conclusion, in my opinion, it is not beneficial for our education and nation that universities accept same numbers of males and females candidates.