In some countries police officers do not carry guns. How does this affect the manner they implement law and order? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a gun. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Every country has its own rules and regulations in order to maintain the law and order among its citizens. Many nations have preventive orders for police officers to carry guns, rather they have strict policies for them to tackle any critical situation without a weapon. This essay will discuss the flaws and benefits of such a policy and also explain why I feel the advantages are superior. A number of countries believe that weapons cannot put an end to crimes, rather they can go wrong in many places. According to them, one of the disadvantages of carrying a gun is the misuse of the same in inappropriate situations. A survey conducted by the experts of criminology in Australia, for example, posits that carrying guns had led the law enforcement officials to be autocrats in some cases not caring about the regulation at all. Apart from this, as police officers are the executive body of a government and the legislation of the land already provides a lot of powers to them to maintain peace and tranquillity. Therefore, critical situations can be also be managed in other ways, such as arresting the offender or counselling them to eliminate their crime-causing thought process to eradicate the root of the crimes. Another group of people, including me, feel that it is absolutely necessary for the executive body of a government to have a weapon handy to control the crime scenes. They argue that carrying guns does not always mean shooting anybody unnecessarily. It is very essential at some places to threaten an offender to even arrest him/her and put behind the bar. In Pakistan, for instance, while arresting a serial killer Mohammad Hamid the force felt difficulties as they were unarmed, stated an article published in The Telegraph. Adding to this, not having a gun can at times leaves these civil servants helpless in front of a ruthless criminal. Three unarmed constables of the Gurgaon police station were shot dead in an unexpected encounter while chasing an infamous habitual offender Chota Chetan. Indeed, carrying a weapon strengthens the law enforcement force at a time of necessity. In conclusion, some situations can really be dealt with without arms. This, however, is not always possible as the criminals are dangerous and they can go to any extent. In such critical and crucial cases, I personally feel that having a gun will certainly help the executive officers to be ready and more efficient.