A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, it appears that a person's worth is measured in physical items such as money and expensive belongings. In the past, it seems like emotional intelligence, including attributes such as kindness, honour and trust, were more valued. While there are many reasons to think that the world is obsessed with materialism, I hold strong on the belief that humans will ultimately choose soft skills over cash and status. There are multiple persuasive arguments confirming the notion that humans nowadays are obsessed with status and goods. Firstly, the rise and fame of influencers on social media is generally an indication that a large proportion of people are besotted with branding and luxury. For example, Kim Kardashian is famous only for wearing luxurious clothes and publicly showcasing her perceived glamorous life. Furthermore, many young people want to follow in these glamorous footsteps. Often, youngsters take up big loans so they can buy expensive items to show off and get recognition from their peers. While such behaviour was not unknown in the past, it was much less widespread. These days, the love for glamour and luxury may be widespread, but ultimately it is a person's soft skills that remain most important. It is often claimed that mainly younger people are influenced by excessive materialism. More mature individuals have often learned that what matters most in life can't be bought. Perhaps it comes as no surprise that globally there is said to be an unprecedented rise in mental health concerns, ranging from anxiety and depression to suicide. In conclusion, at first glance, it may seem that old-fashioned values are disappearing. However, when the focus is set on mental health and well-being, it becomes clear that what matters most is not physical possessions and status but attributes such as kindness, honour and trust.