Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays,the environmental problems caused by the excessive use of fossil energy like petrol have become more and more serious, but in my opinion, only raising the price of petrol can not solve the main problem of environmental pollution. It is true that increasing the price of petrol could make fewer people afford it, and as fewer people can afford petrol, fewer people will use cars as the main transportation, and if fewer people drive cars, the exhaust emissions will decrease. But it is not fair to people who live in suburbs or areas with poor public transport, those who can not afford petrol will undertake much extra pressure. I think that the government should give priority to developing and building public transport and reduce their ticket costs within reasonable limits. If using public transportation can lead people to get to place as fast and convenient as they drive a private car, I think more and more people will choose to take public transportation. When most people take public transportation, there will be significant reductions in petrol consumption and exhaust emissions, the pollution of environments and global warming will be relieved. In addition, the government should think about the development of new clean energy, with the development of modern science and technology, it becomes more and more common for cars or some other transportation to run on clean energy. if the society can more focus on developing new energy sources will also reduce public use petrol. In conclusion, I think increasing the price is not very useful to mitigate the pollution problem, the better way to increase using of clean and renewable energy sources.