In some countries, citizens must pay a lot of money in taxes, but education and healthcare are free. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantage?

Taxing citizens for socio-economic benefits has been an age-old debate. In a number of countries, society has to incur taxes in return for free healthcare and education. This essay will highlight why this is a viable approach. To begin with, there is a school of thought that people should not be taxed for education and medical benefits. This is because,in many countries, the government-run hospitals and education institutions lack the basic infrastructure and the technology required to provide the necessary services. For example, in a developing country like India, primary schools and state-run medical centres are not world-class, and therefore, people prefer themselves being treated at private hospitals and enrol their children in international schools. Hence, not being equipped with state of the art facilities, constitute a major obstacle to such a tax-benefit system. On the other hand, many believe that every child deserves elementary schooling free of cost irrespective of their financial status. Thus, charging citizens universally for providing their children with quality education, has been one of the major lucrative socio-economic policies that have been adopted by the government in developed countries across the world. Furthermore, with an ever-increasing cost of health expenses, it becomes crucial that government provides its citizens with a sense of security by covering the cost of their well-being. For instance, countries like Canada and Germany that rank high on the human development index have done this. Thus, the right to universal education and a sense of social security is required for all and must be incurred by the government expenditure without any bias. To conclude, I strongly believe that the benefits of a tax system that provides free education and healthcare for all, far outweigh the drawbacks and is a feasible modus operandi that all developing nations should look at eventually.