Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that people residing in foreign countries have lots of difficulties in both their social and practical life. However, I don’t agree with this opinion that thanks to the development of education and technology, individuals can easily get used to the living conditions in other nations. To start with, social problems are not as serious as we all have thought. Foreigners always welcome people from other countries to come and live with them so that they can broaden their horizon about differences in cultures and lifestyles. Moreover, they are usually hospitable and cordial so it seems quite easy to have a talk and make friends with them. For example, when you come to Vietnam, people here are very enthusiastic, they are willing to answer any questions from you or even help you take a tour and understand more about their beautiful country. Additionally, unlike the past, humans nowadays have higher education and more experience, so that they have more awareness of language barriers, thus really appreciating foreigners’ effort to get acquainted with the life in their country. Particularly, some adversities for exchange students while studying in other countries were racism, misconception and discrimination, so they felt antipathy towards surrounding people and just wanted to segregate themselves from the community. But now, those problems have gradually disappeared and been replaced by the harmony with their foreign friends. Besides, difficulties in practical activities have not been too severe to be nervous. Thanks to the development of technology, residents in foreign countries can do everything by themselves without too much help from others. For example, with technical devices, when they want to find the correct directions, all they need to do is to search the location on Google map and receive instructions in their own language just in seconds. Furthermore, there are thousands of useful apps to learn languages, so they can try and improve their understanding and speaking skills of the common language of the countries they are living in. They have available environments to practice and enhance their abilities, so with some effort and their phones accompanying them, they can gradually adapt to other countries’ culture and people ’s attitudes there. Thanks to that, they have opportunities to enhance their capacities day by day to become the most satisfied and best version of themselves. In conclusion, from my perspective, I think that living in a foreign country and having to speak its national language are not as severe as we used to think thanks to the help of state-of-the-art education and modern technology.