Govenments should spend more money on railways than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

From the medieval ages, improvement in travelling is a part of human’ evolution. In the current era, government of the states spends money for the development of infrastructures such as railways and roads. It is a debate on the notion that whether government should spend money on railways in comparison to that spend on roads. To begin with, in my opinion, government must measure the requirement of the community. Cities, where most of travellers use railways as their prime medium of commuting, require the investment of government resources to the region. Inter city railway such as underground railway network is the heart of the connectivity to the different parts of the city. To illustrate, New York metro station is one the largest network of underground railway station that serves over 3 million commuters in the city. Railways have leverage over roads because there is a minuscule chance to get stuck in a traffic since, the administration of railways is controlled by the government. On the other hand, it is my view that roads also play a paramount role to the development of the state. This is because roads are fundamental medium of travelling. Furthermore, it would be detrimental for a government to neglect the development of roadways. Right from the start of a city’ development roads play an imperative role promoting trades among the cities. Some of the commuters prefer to travel by their private vehicles rather than to travel in a public space. For instance, after the advent of pandemic most of the people are now preferring to travel by their own means. Therefore, it is evident that government cannot completely rely on the public transportation services such as railways. To conclude, without sitting on the fence, in my view the sources spent by the government depends on the kind of state or cities it is governing. Since, most of the cities are quite decently developed, and pandemic will not last for a long period of time. For the sake of greater good in this situation it is advisable to spend money on the railways than that spend on roads.