Living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that living in metropolitan areas has an adverse effect on people ’s health. While I accept that the availability of health services and facilities in urban areas would benefit inhabitants of cities greatly, I believe that city life also has detrimental effects on urban citizens’ health. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why I agree that living in urban areas is beneficial for people ’s health to some certain extent. The first reason is that people living in large cities have easy access to good healthcare and medical treatment. This is because there are many hospitals and health centers in major cities, which often update modern medical facilities, which can help to detect and diagnose a variety of diseases such as diabetes or cancer at an early stage through regular check-ups to treat them effectively. The second reason is that there are many fitness centers built around the city to encourage city dwellers to exercise regularly, resulting in the improvement of public health. For example, going to the gym with modern sports facilities and personal trainers is one of the best ways for people to exercise daily, which would help them build up resistance to diseases. Nevertheless, I also believe that some physical and mental health problems would likely be the result of city life. Firstly, people living in major cities are often confronted with high levels of air pollution, which is caused mainly by huge amounts of gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles, released into the atmosphere. In fact, poor air quality would be a significant contributor to serious health problems such as lung cancer or other respiratory diseases. Secondly, people choosing to live in metropolises are often under heavy pressure to earn more to cover the high living cost, with few opportunities to do sports due to their busy work schedules. As a result, a far higher proportion of urban dwellers tend to suffer from depression and anxiety than those living in rural areas, negatively affecting their health. In conclusion, while I agree that the advantages of better medical services and facilities that city life would bring to urban citizens are undeniable, I believe that living in large cities also has some potential mental and physical problems to people ’s health