Nowadays young people watch too much violent programs and are exposed to a great deal of negative news. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At the present, media with violent programs and negative news has become increasingly popular with teenagers. Therefore, there is a fear in many people that this trend can cause harmful impacts on adolescents and the society they live in. From my perspective, I totally agree with this opinion due to the reasons mentioned below in this essay. On the one hand, children are susceptible to negative media. First of all, that televisions and the internet are bombarding young people with violent content can promote an inappropriate lifestyle. An example can be seen in Vietnam, where it is easy for children to watch gangster movies on the television, many high school students resorted to drugs or alcohol as a study from these films. In addition, thanks to displaying too much negative news to draw people's attention, the media can distort adolescents' perspective of life. The reason lies in the fact that teenagers lack practical experience of real life and what they see from the media can be an essential factor for their judgement about society. As a consequence, harmful information offers children a bad view of society and they may not feel optimistic about life. On the other hand, violent programs and negative news also bring plenty of drawbacks for the public. Firstly, as I mentioned above, harmful media can encourage many young people with inappropriate lifestyles who are the seed of juvenile offences. This leads to an increase in the social crime rate and residents will not have the safety feeling in this society. Furthermore, the economic development of a country also is heavily affected by negative programs and information from televisions or the internet. Young people are the country's future, and if a nation has the next generation with negative view of life because of what they see on the media, there will be a warning for the quality of human resources of this country in the future. In a nutshell, I would reaffirm that violent and negative content in the media nowadays is clearly a harmful trend owing to its huge disadvantages for young people and society.