In many countries, there are an increasing number of private cars.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Owning a car is not only a privilege but also a necessity depending upon where he lives. Furthermore, as car manufacturers have started to manufacture more mainstream cars, the cost of owning one has been stagnant. Hence, car ownership has seen exponential growth in many countries. Having our own means of transportation is definitely advantageous, however, I believe it has more drawbacks than benefits. Firstly, having our own car means, we do not have to be reliant on public transport alone to get to somewhere. Secondly, for a car owner, no distance is too great to conquer. This ultimately relates to the fact that more opportunities will be up for grabs, more places we will be able to visit which is great for the tourism sector. Similarly, more car owners mean more manufacturing jobs at the plant, more tax can be collected that can be used for future infrastructure development. For example, the automotive industry is one of the biggest revenue generators for Australia, as a result, Australia has been able to maintain great quality roads, invest in new projects and connect regional Australia to metropolitan cities. This shows the economic impact of one particular industry. On the other hand, car ownership has been in the negative limelight recently. To elaborate, running the car relies heavily on fossil fuels, such as, Petrol, Diesel and LPG which have proven to be the greatest energy invention of the modern era as the whole automotive industry has tasted success riding on the perpetual energy source of fossil fuel. Having said that, pollution from all the CO2 and CFC gases that are released into the atmosphere as the bi-product of fuels burning, global warming has accelerated at an unprecedented rate. For instance, cities like Beijing and New Delhi have some of the worst air quality for breathing for which smoke and exhaust gases are some of the prime contributors. And it will get worse as the number of cars increases. In conclusion, cars certainly provide us with freedom and flexibility, however, the devastating effects can not be overlooked and the disadvantages here far outweigh the advantages.