Some cities ban private cars from entering the centre and force people to use bicycles and buses. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Several cities are restricting the movement of privately owned vehicles, and instead promoting citizens to use bicycles and buses. Although this shift will help to drop the pollution level as well as there will be increase in physical movement, it will lead to over-crowding of public transport & elderly people might sometimes find it challenging. This essay will discuss in the forthcoming paragraphs why this is a beneficial approach. On the one hand, this initiative helps in the reduction of carbon emission in our atmosphere as well as increases the amount of physical activities. Having less vehicles on roads drop the emission of harmful pollutants that promote good health of humans. Moreover, people also get benefitted as cycling, standing in the bus and walking reduces the sedentary lifestyle. For example, as lockdown was announced during the breakout of the COVID-19 pandemic and no cars and bikes were allowed to ply on road, there was a considerable reduction in the pollution level that was very evident while breathing air also. Similarly, humans started using cycles for easy commuting that made them healthier. Hence, not using one's own car facilitates cleaner mother earth and promotes well-being.