Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Lately it is observed that many deliberately terminate pregnancy by removing the fetus commonly. Some in favor of this process want to make this legal while those against it consider it to be very sinful. The essay formulated below will discuss on both these angles and lastly will emphasize my viewpoint as to why abortion should be prohibited. Killing a baby who is still in the mother’s womb is a wrongful deed. Many organizations, religious leaders are against this wicked process. They want the government to strictly enforce regulations on those who practise the process. In rural areas of some countries, there is a norm that having baby girls is an omen to the family. This is mostly seen in poor, uneducated families. The reason being that once a baby girl grows up to be a beautiful girl in the twenties they need to be given away for marriage. In these cases, the girl’s family needs to give the groom’s family a huge dowry which cannot be borne by these families. Hence, as an early solution most families tend to abort the baby at very early stages once the babies’ gender is known. But this is illegal and not correct. How can another person decide the future of an individual who is not even born yet? Individuals performing these abortion processes should be punished for life time and these should be publicly advertised on media as well so that others in the society are aware of the results if such an action is taken. Some in the society are in favor of this process and want the government to legalize it. These individuals are in the mindset that the future of a baby should be decided by the parents i.e. either to keep or kill the fetus depending on various factors such as wealth, marital status, etc. This shouldn’t be the case. Also now there are different protective mechanisms such as birth control pills and condoms that individuals can use to avoid pregnancy. Legalizing this process will induce other problems within the society such as rape. Considering these pointers, I’m of the opinion that abortion should be strictly banned regardless of age and marital status. Anyone who practises this should be punished severely.