some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be spent else where. to what extent do you agree.

Some persons thought line is that government is wasteful by supporting artists through finances,I totally disagree because artists contribute to the Nation's economy through various departments. Scrulpture is a form of art which depicts various parts of the culture and national heritage through wood carvings and thus help grow and exposure our culture world wide when tourist buy and take them to there countries. Exhibition of various tradition ceremonies is part of art which attracts a huge international audience,as these come in the country they increase the rate of foreign currency exchange which boost the economy, for example in my country people come from all parts of the globe to watch the kuomboka ceremony of the lozi logo loci tribe from the western part of the country as they move from the flood plains to the dry land during the rain season. To ad on,music gives people a voice on various issues affecting them which stakeholders can listen to and take action as it not possible to have a dialogue with everyone who needs to be heard. For instance producing songs against the raising cases of defilement has helped to sensitive the local community and lead to the prosecution of perpetrators. To conclude,art is a platform which can benefit government in many ways and therefore it is imperative for it to be funded.