Many people are afraid to leave their home because of crime. Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime. While others feel that little action can be done to stop crime. What is your view?

Do you think crime is much too common these days? Does that prevent you from stepping out of your home? Apparently, there are other people who think the same and they believe that more measures need to be taken to stop crime. Others however think that there is nothing more than anybody can do about putting a brake on criminal activities. It is my view that there are several measures in addition to punishment that one can still put in place to curb unlawful activities, which will be explained below with relevant examples. First and foremost, the most important step is to understand the reasons that individuals resort to a criminal lifestyle. Studies show that in 90% of cases this is due to a lack of food security. For example, in the eastern belt of India, hunger is widespread and unemployment is sky-high. Recent reports say families are resorting to human trafficking of their children in order to be able to eat a meal. While an immediate short term measure would be to provide food security to distressed areas, long terms actions need to be set in place, like vocational training, setting up businesses to increase job opportunities, and undertaking development in troubled areas on a war footing, by both government and private sectors. Moreover, the increase in lawlessness is also caused by corruption in government and private sector companies which stems from the lack of transparency and accountability in governance. Businesses are always looking for a bigger piece of the market pie than they already have and the best way to get it is to obtain governmental projects at cutthroat prices. For instance, in India, if a business wants to land a government project of humungous proportions, all they have to do is grease all the right palms all the way to the top. This way they get to know the lowest price of their competitors so that they can quote an amount that is fractionally lower and they inevitably bag the project. Such a company may not have any expertise in the core area of the said project and as such they compromise the quality of the final product that is produced, which is a criminal waste and harmful to the public, to say the least. One important move to counter this rot in the system is to make the details of projects public and add the criteria of standards and past experience in the field to price, as essential requirements. In conclusion, there could be several more reasons for the rise in misdeeds, but with will and a little ingenuity each of them can be tackled with the help of technology, people participation and commitment on the part of both public and private sectors.