In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

In the old days, shopping was believed to be a routine in-home task. People in those times tended to do grocery shopping and purchase mostly what was necessary for their lives. However, at present, numerous people consider shopping as a leisure activity and satisfy their own needs. First of all, it is obvious that advertising on TV, social media, and in magazines tempts people to buy products and luxury items they don’t need. They just purchase those things because of the pressure from their peers and society that they must keep up with the latest trends and improve their self-esteem. Surprisingly, a great number of people find shopping therapeutic because they can take their minds off their problems and find it relaxing.   At the same time, shopping malls and shopping centres are on every corner of the streets. These places undoubtedly offer all-day facilities to encourage people to spend more time there. They buy on impulse due to the atmosphere and background music in the shop. As a consequence, people often purchase products or objects which are unnecessary. Furthermore, these days, credit cards and digital money also play significant roles in the rising shopping trend as it is convenient for people to go on a shopping spree.   In conclusion, from my perspective, I strongly believe that the trend of shopping is definitely positive and will dramatically grow in the future. Individuals will go shopping both in physical shops and online as they enjoy it and consider it now as a recreational activity.