Some people says that adverting is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people thinks that advertising is so common that we no longer to pay attention to it. Discuss both sides of view and give your own opinion.

Advertising is one of the things that has become prevalent in our society today and its all-encompassing nature has been further exacerbated by our reliance on modern technology today. I do believe in the power it has when influencing one ’s purchasing decisions. However, it is important that it must be done right to be able to unleash its full potential. Firstly, I will be looking into the aspects of advertising that has made it so powerful. One thing that advertisements benefit from today is the internet. Many big technology companies such as Google, Facebook and Amazon collect data from our browsing habits such as the websites we visit, the items we click on and the duration we spend on a website. This data is more commonly known as cookies. With this data, they are able to create a personal profile for each individual and use that to personalise and tailor advertisements. For example, if one was shopping for handbags online, all they would see in the advertisement ecosystem would be handbags. It is this nature of personalising advertisements that makes them powerful as they make you more likely to buy things. Furthermore, advertisements nowadays use a variety of techniques to elicit various emotions by depicting different situations and selling the upsides. For example, a recent Heineken commercial capitalised on the Euro 2020 tournament to show a group of friends having fun while drinking Heineken and watching football to make more consumers interested in buying their beer over their competitors’. Another advertisement for diapers used a scene of a mother easily changing her baby’s diapers and heaving a sigh of relief using this particular brand. This would have made parents more likely to buy this brand to reduce some of the stress they experience when taking care of a baby. These are just two aspects of advertising that have made it so powerful in influencing ones purchasing decisions today. However, when advertising is overdone and done in a wrong way, people no longer pay attention to it and may even boycott the product that is being advertised. The important thing with advertising is that it has to be done with the correct frequency. Too few ads may not result in the desired outcome of increasing purchases. On the other hand, too many ads will shun people away. One such example is advertising on the popular video-sharing platform, YouTube. Nowadays many videos have multiple ads in the middle of the video and in many cases these ads cannot be skipped. This results in viewers being unhappy with the ads and creates a negative effect for the company as lesser people will buy their products. Moreover, ads have to be properly placed for them to be effective. No one wants a page full ad taking up their screen when they are reading news or browsing other websites. Another thing that advertisers have to keep in mind is designing the advertisement correctly. Pepsi is a notable culprit for not designing their ads correctly. One such example is an ad few years ago where Kendall Jenner, a famous celebrity, handed a white police officer a can of Pepsi. The ad also involved imagery of the Black Lives Matter movement where they were protesting police brutality. Wanting to promote a message of peace and unity, Pepsi instead faced a huge backlash as they were called out for trivialising the movement. More recently, Pepsi also suffered when Cristiano Ronaldo, the famous footballer, moved two bottles of Pepsi away from the camera from their well-placed product placement spot during a press conference in the Euro 2020 tournament. Ronaldo moved the bottles as he did not want to promote Pepsi to his fans, a product that he himself does not consume. This action caused Pepsi to lose approximately $4B USD in the stock market. Thus, when advertising is not done correctly, it has a negative effect on its success. All in all, I still believe that advertising is extremely successful in persuading us to buy things. When it is done correctly, like the company Apple who has branded themselves and their products as meant for creatives and game changers, it has a lot of power. Furthermore, many companies like Google and Today (the newspaper) sustain their search engine and newspaper respectively via advertisements. These instances give advertisements the biggest endorsements and testament to its success in influencing our purchasing decisions. For if they were not powerful, they would not be kept in use even today.