In some cultures children are often told that can achieve anything if they try hard enough.What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Should children be told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough? This question is one that cannot be answered simply as there are compelling arguments on both sides of the spectrum. In this essay, I will look at the advantages and disadvantages of giving children such a message. On one hand, telling children that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough has a positive impact. Children will be more determined to work hard to achieve their dreams whether it may be a dream job, a dream university, a certain lifestyle et cetera. Furthermore, it also encourages them to pick themselves back up and work harder to achieve something they initially failed at. It also teaches them to be resilient when they enter the harsh working environment in the future. One where they are likely to face many hardships. However, there is also a dark side to this conundrum. At a young age, children have many dreams and due to their lack of awareness of the multi-faceted nature of our environment, they may set unrealistic goals for themselves such as making a million dollars at 15 years old. This is not an impossible task but it still is hard to achieve despite our best efforts. As such, when they do not achieve such an impractical goal, it may have a negative impact where they perceive themselves as not good enough or smart enough. This could spiral further and lead to depression and in some cases may even lead to suicide. In conclusion, whilst the disadvantages of telling children they can achieve anything if they try hard enough are dreadful, the likelihood of such an event transpiring is trivial. As such, the positive benefits outweigh the negative disadvantages. However, parents must monitor the mental health of their children as sometimes mental health conditions may not be recognised until it is too late which is unacceptable in this case.