Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Writing thesis and dissertation are not uncommon tasks of one's academic career, however, sometimes students being overwhelmed by multiple tasks followed tight deadlines, forces them to immediately borrow the texts from other's work. In this essay, I will not only explain the reasons behind this major problem but also provide some potential solutions for the same. On one hand, students studying any sort of course right from graduation to doctorates, are particularly occupied with multiple concurrent tasks. Considering university students pursuing computer engineering, for instance, they have to prepare for campus interviews which demand technical skillset like Java and relevant frameworks, in spite of the students have to submit a thesis for their final year project parallely parallelly. As a result, in order to save time, a reference from pre-existing projects are directly copied. Furthermore, few students tend to borrow somebody else's work just out of their laziness. This leading universities to face the problem of plagiarism more often. On the other hand, it is critical to curbing the frequent cases of plagiarism simply because, it is a crucial part of the ongoing curriculum. The first and foremost solution could be, reducing the number of parallel tasks the students are experiencing. Like there could be a defined interval of few months in which students can have a focussed time to work on their research and dissertations. The coinciding tasks like interviews, could be postponed to a later stage. In addition to that, there are myriad of tools online which help to detect the percentage of foreign stuff borrowed in someone'sthesis; this could be allowed to a certain extent, but for an extreme plagiarism like more than 70%, students should be seriously penalised. The more cases are detected and punished, the more it will induce an instill fear of coping stuff among the aspirants. To recapitulate, Plagiarism is being an increasing problem, if it exceeds beyond a certain limit in some cases, then it becomes important to be more strict, thus using certain tools to detect it, along with appropriate punishment could be one of the solutions to stop potential offensive cases in future.