Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example for a working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that more and more facilities need help from others as time goes by. By making high schoolers work there, we can solve the lack of help in the public amenities. On one hand, some people might disagree with this idea because they believe that rather than making it mandatory, it would be beneficial to make it their own choice. This is because once the pupils are forced to do the complimentary work for the public, the overall result would be not that outstanding compared to the contrary situation. On the other hand, if the students are exposed to the opportunities that they can give someone a hand, it would be a great experience to broaden their point of view. In other words, even though the start was not their choice, after finding the truth that providing aids for someone without being paid, there is a likelihood that more students would tend to do more voluntary work even after their graduation from high school. For example, I have some friends who do not mind doing unpaid work for their neighbours. Though they have their own hectic life, after they got to know the sense of fulfilment from helping someone, they have made it a rule to do it periodically. If it had not been mandatory to do any unpaid work when they were in high school, nobody can be sure whether they could have this awesome habit now. In conclusion, though it could cause some hostility for someone once it is mandatory to do volunteer work in high school, since it would be a truly good experience and start knowing the pleasure of helping others, we should set it essential.